2015 in Review: Highlights

DSC02670

Scrambles highlight: what you can observe from Observation Peak

Movies: I didn’t see that many movies in 2015, and only two that I can remember in theatres. The movies I saw that I thought best, in order of increasing lightheartedness: The Colour of Pomegranates an extraordinary achievement of cinematography and some of the most memorable shots-as-imagery (the books in the wind!), but having none of the other parts of what makes a movie. The Buttoners a maximally dark comedy I tried to sneak into at VIFF ’98 (?) despite being underage, and finally saw last year. Persistence paid off, although I think 14 year old me would have liked the movie even more.

DSC02529

Scrambles highlight 2: the glacial valley on the way up to Marriott is way prettier than the view at the top

24 Hour Party People a movie about the late 70’s Manchester scene, Joy Division et al., which is hilarious due to Steve Coogan delivering some really funny lines as Tony Wilson. Whit Stillman’s Barcelona which has the same kind of humour as all Whit Stillman movies, and which is apparently the type of humour exactly calculated to maximally appeal to me.

 

Books: I wrote a thing about it. Of the books on that list, the best book I read was probably “Faithful Ruslan”

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 12.16.28 AM

Scrambles highlight 3: Lady Peak summit

Hikes and scrambles: 2015 was a pretty productive year in terms of peaks attempted, at least by my standards. My favourite scramble was Observation Peak on the Icefields Parkway. Gorgeous, snowy views, interesting scrambling moves, weird weather, and only one other party on the mountain. Other highlights were Lady Peak in Chilliwack on my birthday, and an ill-fated attempt at Sun God Mountain as a “present” for dad.

Dad con sangre.jpg

Scrambles highlight 4: dad contemplates ever letting me pick a scramble destination again

Trips: for the first time in several years, I didn’t make any trips outside of the US and Canada, and I liked it like that. Of course, it’s a shame to not be able to see people I like who live outside of North America, but there are so many things to see here as well. My two favourites were the trip to Tofino, where we slept in the Heptapus, saw a giant dog, ate delicious food and had ideal surfing conditions, and the trip to New York City, where it was wonderful to see A., K., and M., three people who are totally different in temperament and values, but with each of whom I felt good and felt at home, and each of whom found what they wanted in New York and seemed happy there.

This entry was posted in books, movies, reviews, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 in Review: Highlights

  1. Mila says:

    Спасибо! В отличие от хоккея, и т.п. этот пост о том, что я могу оценить: красота природы, кинофильмы, книги и человеческие отношения. И фотографии замечательные. Очень понравилось! 🙂

Leave a Reply

