Insomnia 6

Remember when I posted a couple of translations from Marina Tsvetaeva’s Insomnia cycle and said I also made other ones? I thought I would post another one. What better time to post it than at 4:30 AM on a Monday night?

(6)
This night I wander through the night alone
A Sister of a homeless, sleepless Order
This night in the lone capital I own
The key to every gate within its border

Insomnia has given me no rest
Oh my dim Kremlin, how you seem enchanted
This night I place a kiss upon the breast
Of this entire round and warring planet

It is not hair but fur that stands on end
A stifling wind stirs that my soul cannot resist
This night I’m moved to pity, which I send
To all the pitied and to all the kissed

This entry was posted in translation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

