Songbook of days: Halloween

I just finished a book called “Gene Wolfe’s Book of Days” which is a collection of Gene Wolfe’s short stories which is organized by major dates within the year, either literally or thematically (e.g. love for Valentine’s day). This book is notable to me for being the only book I’ve ever read where my favourite part was the introduction. That’s not a strong endorsement, I know. But I think the device is neat, so I’ve decided to institute a playlist version here at the blog. Halloween is coming up, so let’s start with that. And, yes, I know that Halloween is mostly about being the best day in the year for a house party, and my choices don’t reflect that at all. Whatever.

Bauhaus – Bela Lugosi’s Dead
Ellen Allien – Trash Scapes Voc
Marianne Faithfull – There is a Ghost
Exuma – Mama Loi, Papa Loi
Current 93 – Rosy Star Tears from Heaven
Radiohead – Fog
Alina Simone – Everyone is crying out to me, beware!
Jackson C. Frank – Halloween is Black as Night
Cat Power – Werewolf
Throbbing Gristle – Persuasion (the creepiest song of all time)
George Crumb – Black Angels (Here is a part of it, anyway)

Any suggestions? (I tried finding “La mort et le chien obèse” but it doesn’t seem to be freely available on the internet at this point).

*UPDATE* I dunno how I left out The Violent Femmes – Country Death Song

This entry was posted in songbook of days. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Songbook of days: Halloween

  1. Zuuko says:

    How could you forget the Count Song?

Leave a Reply

