In Which I fall In Love With A Pole

Image Despite the fact that in my last post I said that I would not comment again on the Euro-mess, I can’t help myself one last time. Believe me, with a busy November from work, it has been relatively easy for me to not post despite the tempting daily news headlines. I mostly refrained because it didn’t seem like I was breaking new ground. My readers (all three of you) have a pretty good idea where I stand. To wit:

“When it comes to this, Europe is at fork in the road. Turning right involves breaking up the Euro (and likely or possibly the E.U.?) and each nation turning inward. Turning left involves a comprehensive political solution, likely in the form of integration and possibly modeled after the Canadian political system – a federation with powers divided between the central government and the constituent states.”

**

Which brings me to today where I can’t help myself from posting on Radek Sikorski’s speech (Polish Foreign Minister) from Berlin two days ago. I’ll excerpt it here but please read the whole thing. Perhaps the most important speech to come out of Europe in two decades and, as long time readers rightly suspect from the following excerpts, I was almost wetting myself reading it.

It <the European crisis> is of course partly about debt, the need to deleverage our economies from the crazy heights caused by government overspending, accounting chicanery and irresponsible financial engineering…

The inevitable conclusion is that this crisis is not only about debt, but primarily about confidence and, more precisely, credibility…

We have a Europe with a dominant currency but no single Treasury to enforce it. We have joint borders without a common migration policy. We are supposed to have a common foreign policy, but it is divorced from real instruments of power and often weakened by member states cutting their own deals…

If we are not willing to risk a partial dismantling of the EU, then the choice becomes as stark as can be in the lives of federations: deeper integration, or collapse…

…a compromise under which everybody’s debts were jointly guaranteed and a revenue stream created to service them…

So, we also have to decide whether we want to become a proper federation, or not.

Germany… is the biggest beneficiary of the current arrangements and therefore that she has the biggest obligation to make them sustainable… <Germans> are not an innocent victim of others’ profligacy… <German> banks also recklessly bought risky bonds. <Germany>, because of your size and your history you have a special responsibility to preserve peace and democracy on the continent…

I fear German power less than I am beginning to fear German inactivity…

This entry was posted in Euro-Debacle, finance. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Which I fall In Love With A Pole

  1. zolltan says:

    Great graphic!

    “I may be the first Polish foreign minister in history to say this” – heh… But will anybody listen to him?

  2. zzzanna says:

    Zuuko, I know I am reading this months too late, but a) i am VERY impressed!!! and like your style!! and how the hell you have time to read/keep track off/ document ALL this ..!!

  3. zzzanna says:

    PS now i get it “..fall in love with a Pole” .. i jsut finished reading the whole speech, really good speech…..

Leave a Reply

