Consolation

Dedicated to those who were pulling for the Liberals or the Bloc in the election, here is Baden Powell’s Consolação (that’s Portuguese for consolation. duh):

My attempt at translating the song into English, below the fold.

And if there wasn't this love
And if there wasn't this pain
And if there weren't these tears
And if there wasn't this hurt
Why even live in the world?

Oh my love, my love was strong
And how I suffered for my love, and how I hurt
Oh my tears, flowed for so long
But in the end no one can tell me I was wrong
Wrong to have loved

By the way, in case you were like, “but wait, that song doesn’t have words”, here is a video of it with words, as sung by Mônica Salmaso. The best sung version, in my opinion, though, is by Nara Leão, but it’s sadly not on youtube.

This entry was posted in music, politics, translation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

